Explore: St Kilda, Melbourne

In June this year, I was lucky enough to visit Australia for 2 weeks. Both my sisters live in Australia – so I was exceedingly excited to finally be spending some time with them, and getting to know their cities. One blog post is not going to cover everything – so I’ve decided to break it up into random bits and pieces.

Before she moved to Oz, my eldest sister lived in Sasolburg, a small industrial town in the middle of South Africa. Sasolburg is located next to an enormous river & dam (The Vaal). It is located in The Free State province…and it gets cold in winter. Really really cold. I remember visiting her during medical school and sitting at the dining room table huddled in a blanket, bemoaning my existence.

When she moved to Australia this year, she settled in Melbourne. Melbourne sounded like a balmy tropical place. I imagined a winter far more forgiving than Sasolburg.I was wrong. As winter crept around – my sister began describing a chilliness in Melbourne that could only be kept at bay by the miracle of underfloor heating.

Chilly Melbourne morning

 

When I visited her in June, I prepared myself for the worst. It was going to be freezing. And for some of the time – it was.

But one glorious day, when we took the trains and trams down to St. Kilda Beach…the weather smiled down upon us. Walking along the shoreline, we were blessed with a perfectly still, sunny day.

IMG_2115[1]
St. Kilda Beach
At the end of St. Kilda Pier is a small restaurant/kiosk.

We made our way down the Pier and found ourselves a table where we could continue to bake in the sun.

IMG_2118[1]
St Kilda Pier
IMG_2129[1]
Absolute stillness
She ordered a Margarita, and I ordered a glass of white wine*. We sat there for a while enjoying the bliss of feeling uncomfortably warm. My sister found pure happiness in that moment when she was so warm she was forced to take off her puffy warm jacket.

Enjoying the sun

 

Maybe, it’s a remnant of growing up in Durban (a distinctly hot and humid South African city) – but feeling hot and slightly uncomfortable; somehow is a reminder of home.

 

 

*As always – I support responsible drinking. Know your limits and don’t drive under the influence.

 

 

 

Leave a comment