Bouldering: Rocklands, Cederberg

In July 2017, I started bouldering indoors. I fell (obsessively) in love with the sport. I became rather evangelical, inviting friends to try it out – in the hope that I could convert a few.

I had this vision that one day, I’d be able to get in the car with my friends and go bouldering in the Rocklands, Cederberg. The Cederberg is a mountainous region about 3 hours from Cape Town. Rocklands is a world famous bouldering site, within the larger region, and even a beginner like me was curious about this hallowed place.

In February 2018, my wish came true. A few amazing friends of mine, arranged a Rocklands weekend as a gift for my 30th birthday. I could not believe my luck. I obviously have the best friends in the world.

We piled into the cars. Six adults, one baby and one Boston terrier.

We stayed at “The Storytellers” – I will have to write a separate post about this incredible accommodation. Essentially a wonderful semi-open living area with a glamping style tent. A full bathroom and hot water. Bliss.

IMG_5141.JPG

The landscape here was nothing short of other-worldly. Giant boulders surround the entire campsite.

IMG_5144.JPG

The sun started picking up and I quickly realized why winter is bouldering season in the Cederberg. It got hot! Insanely hot. It felt a bit like being in a sauna – all the time. Luckily, there’s a dam on site – providing some much needed relief.

I could not wait for late afternoon. When we could head out to the rocks with a guide/manager of the accommodation. Being complete beginners, it was much safer and smarter for us to head out with a more experienced guide.

I felt like a kid waiting for Christmas morning.

After a short walk, we stopped at our first boulder. I gave it a try, scrambling up, falling once, and scrambling again. Bouldering outdoors was an entirely different experience. Ofcourse – it was beautiful, and peaceful being outdoors. But also terrifying compared to the gym: a lack of colorful holds and a few crash pads that seemed entirely too small to catch me.

Still – I loved it.

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

We tried a few more problems, before the setting sun told us it was time to head home.

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

True to my evangelical love for this sport – let me encourage you: if you are (in any way) interested in bouldering, I would strongly suggest you grab a few friends and head to the Rocklands. It was an incredible weekend. I have so much left to explore of this beautiful landscape, and I look forward to heading out there again soon!

 

PS To my wonderful friends – I cannot thank you enough.

 

Leave a comment